top of page

For the Love of Sangria

My final project in my Draping course is to create an evening gown. The only requirements is for it to be formal in length, have boning and a zipper. I loved all the possibilities that this project had. Projects like this allows a person’s creativity run free; yet, I already knew exactly what I wanted to do. I have been dreaming of an illusion top gown with lace appliqués covering the essentials. The problem I knew i was going to face was finding the perfect lace appliqués that I had dreamed of in my head. Needless to say, I didn’t find them. Instead I did find these beautiful sangria colored flower appliqués at a local fabric store in the heart of Berry Hill area of Nashville, Texile Fabrics. Fortunately they also had a fabric that matches the flowers perfectly. Probably couldn’t have been a better match! I already had a few yards of a flesh tone mesh knit that is typically used for performance wear. It is a good fabric to use for my illusion top. After purchasing my notions I have only spent around $45 dollars on this project! Which is awesome for it being a formal gown.

I decided to drape my illusion fabric directly on the bust form given the fact that it is a knit and would be easier. I use black ribbon tape to mark my necklines and armhole. Once i was satisfied withe the draping I marked my sew lines with blue chalk. DO NOT use wax on fabric unless its a mockup. Unlike the chalk, the wax will not come off. After I marked everything I traced my draping and marked sew lines on paper using a light box to create a paper pattern. On that pattern I drew out seam allowances while still pinned to the fabric and cut the piece out. I sewed together my side and shoulder seams using French seams. I measured the distance from the waist to underneath the bust. I took that measurement and cut out boning and made a casing for it. I attached the boning to natural princess seam line. I decided to use all of my bottom-weight fabric in a gathered manner. I cut the fabric in half, and then the back piece in half again. I sewed the bottom side seams together and used a basting stitch across the top. I then attached the top to the bottom. I started pinning on the flower appliques in the placement I wanted. My next steps are to hand sew the flowers, attach the lining, sew in the zipper and create bias tape and sew that onto the neck and armhole. I will keep you guys posted!

My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page