top of page

Doing It Big In 2016!


Today starts a fresh new year. We have said hello to 2016. As people we are continuously changing and growing. Sometimes through this process we have to reevaluate our lives and the path we are on. At times there are changes we want to make, typically the beginning of a new year is the perfect time for this! So this year as I rang in 2016, I came up with 5 realistic life goals for myself. Things to improve the person I already am, not to change me.

  1. Find more ways to be creative. Being creative allow us to express ourselves in our own unique way. Self expression is healthy and usually very rewarding. I want to find ways to be more creativity in parts of my life that are lacking that special touch. Also, it is even as basic as crafting more in my spare time!

  2. Read at least one book a month! I have always loved to read, and love buying books. I have so many unopened because I have not set aside time in my crazy schedule to allow myself to unwind and escape into a book. So this year I want to read at least 12 new books. Reading makes you smarter, who doesn’t want that?!?

  3. Try to spend less time with technology and experience more of life without my cellphone in tow. We live in the era of technology. People now are able to do some much without ever taking their eyes off their cellphone screen, but is that really living? What details about that flower do I miss when trying to take the perfect photo 17 times? Do I miss the fragrance? Over look the elegance? Maybe just the simplicity of nature is lost when trying to edit, crop and post to instagram. I need to ditch the phone and start experiencing.

  4. In an attempt to better my health and lifestyle I have set a goal of 24 pounds to be lost in 2016. This is a realistic goal of 2 pounds a month. Maybe that is running a few times a week, or maybe cutting out alcohol. Lets all be real… the second one is a bit extreme. I can find time to get my butt out there exercising. We get one body to have for the rest of our lives. Time to stop abusing it.

  5. Lastly, learn something new. This can be as extreme as a new language. To as simple as a new hobby. Maybe I will learn how to do yoga this year. I have always wanted to learn calligraphy. Heck, maybe I can do both. The sky's the limit. The only thing preventing me to learn these things is myself. Time to keep that in the past with 2015.


My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page